As an Anglican Church we are part of a world-wide communion.  Our head is Jesus as Lord and we recognize the Archbishop of Canterbury as a significant spiritual leader. There are 77 million Anglicans worldwide, over half of whom live in Africa. 


The church is organised into regional districts known as dioceses. St Luke’s is part of the Dunedin Diocese (Otago and Southland) which is currently under the leadership of Bishop Steven Benford.


Each parish is governed  by a vestry which consists of the vicar and elected representatives who meet monthly to consider parish life and policy and plan for the future.

Sue McCafferty
Priest in Charge

The Rev. Sue McCafferty is employed part-time by the parish to offer pastoral ministry to the parish and wider Mosgiel community. She is available during the week on Tuesday and Wednesday, and other times by arrangement.

Taieri Anglican Parish
2020 Vestry Members

Bishop's Warden: Chris Cresswell 

People's Warden: Dennis Burton

Vestry: Graham Jones, Chota Moore, Kelly Russell, Martine Cashell-Smith

Parish Representatives to Diocesan Synod: Carol Baxter and Ruth Donaldson 

Dennis Burton & Chris Cresswell

Dennis Burton and Chris Cresswell are the parish's elected leaders and work with the Priest in Charge and Parish Vestry to make decisions affecting the life of the parish.